British American Tobacco will continue to sell products manufactured in Russia

#company's news

The British tobacco manufacturer British American Tobacco, which is one of the largest in the world, will continue to sell goods produced in Russia. This was reported on Wednesday by Bloomberg with reference to the company.

It is emphasized that British American Tobacco, which is known for brands such as Dunhill, Lucky Strike and Rothmans, will suspend "all planned investments in Russia." The company noted that it "continues to work in Russia" because "it has obligations to protect all employees at this extremely difficult and uncertain time."

British American Tobacco also informed that it "suspended all business activities and production in Ukraine." The company's branches in the countries bordering Ukraine provide humanitarian assistance to residents of the republic, the report says.

The Russian division of British American Tobacco was founded in 1991. The company's headquarter in Russia is located in Moscow, there are also 75 regional offices and a production facility in St. Petersburg. In total, about 2.5 thousand people work at British American Tobacco in Russia.

Earlier, the British tobacco company Imperial Brands announced the suspension of all activities in Russia, including the sale of its products, an advertising campaign and production at the factory in Volgograd. According to the Russian division of the company, Imperial Tobacco Sales and Marketing LLC, this decision is due to the inability to maintain full-fledged production against the background of serious failures in business processes, including due to the lack of materials. At the same time, the company does not close legal entities in Russia. It was reported that Imperial Brands, which owns the Davidoff, Richmond and Gitanes brands, will continue to pay salaries to Russian employees.

On February 24, Russian President Vladimir Putin announced a special military operation in Ukraine in response to a request from the leaders of the Donbass republics for help. He stressed that Moscow's plans do not include the occupation of Ukrainian territories. After that, the United States, the EU, the United Kingdom, as well as a number of other states announced that they were imposing sanctions against Russian individuals and legal entities.